Welcome To The Official Blog Of Adamawa Ministry Of Information

By Catherine Philip Jelani 

Adamawa State was created out of the defund Gongola State in the year 1991 by the administration of General Ibrahim Babangida.

The State is bordered by the Cameron Republic to the East, Borno State to the North, Gombe State in the Northeast and Taraba State to the South. 

It is one of the Six states that constitute the North east Geo-political zone of the country.  The slogan of the State is THE LAND OF BEAUTY  because of its cultural richness and unityin diversity. It covers a land mass of 39,742, 12 Square. Km. This is said to be about 4.4% of the total land area of Nigeria.  It is  one of the largest States in the country.

Adamawa State is located between latitute 7 28 to 56N 11 30 to 13 75 E. The State Capital Yola is about  857km to Abuja.


The State is a mini Nigeria because of its diverse ethnic and religious groups each with its distinct cultural setting with no single group large enough to claim majority position.  They however live together in harmony.  some of the major ethnic groups includes;
* Bwatiye 
* Chamba
* Kilba
* Lunguda
* Fulani
* Mbula
* Gude
 * Yungur
* Ga'anda
* Lala
* Hona
* Koma
* Higgi
* Yandan
* Verre
* Kanakuru
* Benjo
* Bali
* Libo
* Bura
* Bile
* Wula
* Tambo
* Kwa Amongst others.

0 comments Blogger 0 Disqus

Post a Comment

Adamawa Daily Reports © 2024. All Rights Reserved. Designed by NINCHI SERVICES LIMITEDAdamawa State Government