Welcome To The Official Blog Of Adamawa Ministry Of Information

The newly inaugurated Chairmen of the six Area Councils in the Federal Capital Territory have been challenged to be proactive and think out of the box to find ways of improving the councils’ revenue.
The FCT Minister, Malam Muhammad Musa Bello gave this challenge Friday at the inauguration ceremony of the newly elected Area Council Chairmen and Vice Chairmen at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.
The Minister stressed that this challenge has become necessary because of the dwindling economy the country is now facing which has affected all tiers of government with the ever increasing obligations.
His words: “Permit me to tell you that serious challenges await you at the Area Councils. The bitter truth is that all the six Area Councils cannot be able to pay staff salaries and other obligations.”
According to him, “even though the FCT Administration has gone extra mile to assist the Area Councils, you are better off taking proactive measure to your various councils”.
Malam Bello reminded the new chairmen that they made a lot of campaign promises and the people have a lot of expectation on them to deliver.
While admonishing the new Chairmen to be leader for all, irrespective of party affiliation, tribe or religious inclination, the Minister enjoined them to lead with the utmost fear of God and the best interest of the people at all times.
“You are now for all, irrespective of party, religion, tribe, age or gender. So be humble in your leadership and appreciate the role played by all stakeholders towards your victory,” he added.
Malam Bello urged the chairmen to ensure accountability and prudence in the management of their councils’ resources; adding “you must turn around the potentials of your Area Councils into wealth, by boosting revenue and blocking leakages, so that your Councils’ can be financially independent and you will be able to deliver the expected dividends of democracy”.
Welcoming guests to the occasion, the FCT Permanent Secretary, Dr. Babatope Ajakaiye commended the peaceful conduct of the elections in the FCT; pointing out that this attested to the fact that the people of the FCT are indeed peace-loving people.
The Permanent Secretary thanked the out-going chairmen and all others in the Area Councils for ensuring a peaceful election and smooth transition process.
He urged the in-coming chairmen to be up and doing in keying into the Change Agenda of the Federal Government, especially as it relates to delivering the dividends of democracy at the grassroots.
The new chairman of Bwari Area Council, Mr. Musa Dikko who responded on behalf of the swore-in chairmen thanked the residents for giving them the mandate and promised to live up to expectation of the people.
The new chairmen of the six Area Councils of the Federal Capital Territory were swore-in by the FCT Chief Judge, Hon. Justice Ishaq Bello.
Those sworn-in were Abdul_Rahman Ajiya-Abaji; Abdullahi Adamu Candido-AMAC; Musa Dikko-Bwari; Adamu Mustapha Denze-Gwagwalada; Abdullahi Galadima- Kuje and Joseph Shazin-Kwali.
Muhammad Hazat Sule, FCAI
Deputy Director / Chief Press Secretary,
Friday, May 20, 2016.

0 comments Blogger 0 Disqus

Post a Comment

Adamawa Daily Reports © 2024. All Rights Reserved. Designed by NINCHI SERVICES LIMITEDAdamawa State Government